Firebird Suite, 1919 Version : For Orchestra.

Firebird Suite, 1919 Version : For Orchestra.

Stravinsky, Igor,  (1882-1971.)


Contents: 1. Introduction, the Firebird and Its Dance -- 2. Princesses Round Dance (Khorovod) -- 3. Infernal Dance of King Kastchei -- 4. Lullaby (Berceuse) -- 5. Finale - Lento Maestoso. Stravinsky's ballet score for The Firebird launched his career as a composer after its Paris premiere in 1910. Although he extracted an orchestral suite the following year, the large orchestra required limited performances in the concert hall. World War I, the Russian Revolution and a move to Switzerland intervened before he was able to arrange a suitable concert suite for a normal-sized orchestra, which was given its premiere by Ernest Ansermet and the newly founded Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in April of 1919. This new study score, a digitally-enhanced reprint of the one issued in 1920 by J. & W. Chester, will be a welcome addition to the libraries of conductors, music students and fans of the great Russian master's music everywhere.

1 study score (84 p.); 24 cm.

ISBN: 1932419748
ISBN13: 9781932419740

Firebird Suite, 1919 Version : For Orchestra.

Price: $16.95
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks.